Welcome    |    Woodrow Wilson Awards    |    Woodrow Wilson Center    I    Sponsors    I    Sponsorship Levels      I    Press Release    I         RSVP 

Woodrow Wilson Awards to Honor
William H. Gates Sr. and Sally Jewell in Seattle

SEATTLE – The Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars will present awards to two distinguished Seattle leaders on June 5.

William H. Gates Sr., Co-Chair of the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, will receive the Woodrow Wilson Award for Public Service, and Sally Jewell, President and CEO of REI, will receive the Woodrow Wilson Award for Public Service.

The Woodrow Wilson Award is given to those individuals whose actions and accomplishments, either in their careers or through service, reflect President Woodrow Wilson’s belief that “there is no higher religion than human service. To work for the common good is the greatest creed.” Such individuals have been recognized worldwide by The Wilson Center since 1998.

Previous recipients of the Woodrow Wilson Award in Seattle include George F. Russell, Jr., Bruce McCaw, Scott and Laurie Oki and William D. and Jill Ruckelshaus.

“Both of our honorees in Seattle reflect the values President Wilson stood for in his life and career,” said the honorable Jane Harman, director, president and CEO of the Woodrow Wilson Center.  “Mr. Gates’ ongoing pursuit of technological advancement and Ms. Jewell’s commitment to environmental preservation in Washington communities are ensuring a bright future for America.”

Media are welcome to attend this event. For credentials please contact Drew Sample at drew.sample@wilsoncenter.org or 202 691 4379.

Notes to Editors

  1. More information on the Woodrow Wilson Awards and the June 5 dinner in Seattle can be found at http://support.wilsoncenter.org/seattle2012
  1. William H. Gates Sr. is the Co-Chair of the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, where he guides the foundation’s vision and strategic direction and serves as an advocate for its key issues.  Bill earned his bachelor’s and law degrees from the University of Washington, following three years of U.S. Army service in World War II.  He became a partner in the law firm of Shidler McBroom Gates & Lucas in 1964, guiding it through growth and mergers that would eventually establish Preston Gates & Ellis, today known as K&L Gates.  A successful and prominent attorney, Bill has served as president of both the Seattle/King County Bar Association and the Washington State Bar Association.  His many other leadership positions include past chairmanship of the Washington Courts 2000 Committee and the American Bar Association House of Delegates.  His awards and honors include the 2009 American Bar Association Medal, the 2009 William O. Douglas Award, the 1992 American Judicature Society Herbert Harley Award, and being named the 1991 University of Washington Law School Distinguished Alumnus.
  1. Sally Jewell is president and CEO of REI, a national retail cooperative providing quality outdoor gear and clothing for more than five million active members.  REI has been named by Fortune Magazine to the “100 Best Companies to Work For” list for the last 15 years, ranked at number 8 in 2012.  Sally is a founding board member of the Mountains to Sound Greenway Trust, which is preserving the long-term environmental health and economic vitality of the I-90 corridor from Puget Sound across the Cascades.  She serves on the Board of Regents of the University of Washington, the board of the National Parks Conservation Association, and the board of the Initiative for Global Development – engaging business leaders in reducing global poverty through economic opportunity.  Sally has been recognized many times for her contributions to the community, especially her work in sustainability and the environment.  Most recently, she was named the 2012 Woman of Distinction by the Girl Scouts of Western Washington.  In 2009, Sally was recognized with the Rachel Carson Award for environmental conservation from the Audubon Society, and the Green Globe – Environmental Catalyst Award from King County, Washington.  She received the Non-Profit Director of the Year award from the National Association of Corporate Directors in 2008.  
  2. The Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars is the national, living memorial honoring President Woodrow Wilson. The Wilson Center provides a strictly nonpartisan space for the worlds of policymaking and scholarship to interact. By conducting relevant and timely research and promoting dialogue from all perspectives, it works to address the critical current and emerging challenges confronting the United States and the world. Created by an Act of Congress in 1968, the Wilson Center is a nonpartisan institution headquartered in Washington, D.C., and supported by both public and private funds.
  1. Jane Harman, director, president and CEO of the Woodrow Wilson Center, retired after nine terms of serving as U.S. Representative of California’s 36th Congressional district, to lead The Wilson Center. During her tenure in Congress, she served on all the major security committees: Armed Services, Intelligence, and Homeland Security. Harman received the Defense Department Medal for Distinguished Service in 1998, the CIA Seal Medal in 2007, and the National Intelligence Distinguished Public Service Medal in 2011. She also currently serves as a member of the Defense Policy Board, advising the U.S. Secretary of State. Prior to serving in Congress, she was a top aide in the United States Senate, Deputy Cabinet Secretary to President Jimmy Carter, Special Counsel to the Department of Defense, and a lawyer in private practice.

Tuesday, June 5, 2012

6:30 p.m. - Reception
7:30 p.m. - Dinner

The Four Seasons, Seattle
99 Union Street
Seattle, WA 98101

Business Attire

Sponsorships begin at $10,000

Bruce Boram
(206) 618-1386


401 NE Ravenna Blvd, #151
Seattle, WA 98115 


RSVP - Register Online


Woodrow Wilson Center Homepage
Copyright 2018 Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars